Research Post #3- The beauty of making a photograph look dramatic

With my photo-real image I really want it to look dramatic. This is because it is about the horrors of World War 1 and therefore needs to give off a dark expression, in order for people to understand what it was like. I plan to create a high contrast in Photoshop in order to make a dramatic statement in my photo-real image. I will probably make some of the indented photos on the wall and floor back and white as well to make it slightly more dramatic. Through an article I found online I read that it works best when you have a strong light source, for example windows and dark shadows. The photo below was the example they used to show the sort of photo you need in order to get the best results.

i-heart-faces-photo-editing-tutorial-before

This article demonstrated how to get the photo to back and white, which I was already aware of from Visual Communication, however it will still be good to come back to this article if I ever get stuck, because it gives an in-depth step by step guide to creating a great dramatic photograph.

i-heart-faces-photo-editing-tutorial-20

This article demonstrates the ability to take a mundane photo and little subject and turn it into a dramatic black and white photograph.

http://www.iheartfaces.com/2013/02/high-key-look-with-photoshop/

Leave a Reply

