Summary

My infographic is ‘How to help save the Planet’ and includes 10 easy steps that everyone can follow to help the longevity of the planet. My communication objective was all about listing 10 steps in a way that is easily understood, using symbolic representations to instantly get the message, along with a little bit of text to fit with each picture. I found it really tricky limiting myself to a little amount of text, I therefore tried to make the captions as simple and straight forward as possible.

I wanted my infographic to have an organic look and feel about it, so I used a font which looks like it could’ve been handwritten and made my images look like hand done sketches. My background colours are earthy tones as they are the sorts of colours we associate earth, nature and sustainability with. My layout, colour, images and text were what I found to be the best components for communicating a clear message.

From what I had learnt in class about Illustrator, I think the tool that became the most handy was the pen tool; I found the pen tool to be great for outlining an image accurately. I feel that my images are all consistent, precise representations of what they should be. I also found the eyedropper tool to be great for getting colours accurate in each image, as using a real photo is as accurate as you can get. As I wanted my infographic to have an organic feel I felt my images were best represented without any shading, 3D look or textures.

In class we also learnt about layout, typography, semiotics and other useful tools to make a great infographic. I looked at various layouts, and used different aspects of different ones to produce my own. I liked having the title by itself, with the images and text together going horizontally down the page. I wanted both lines of images in the middle so that the text appeared on each side and in result could be as far from each other as possible. In terms of typography I made the title rounded but kept the rest of the text very simple and then of course the handwritten looking font. With semiotic side of my infographic my biggest task was to make sure each visual was easily understood. I used basic outlines and block colours so that they could be easily interpreted.

In relation to the A8 I wanted to make sure I wasn’t using anything that wasn’t represented in the A4, therefore I kept with the same font, title layout, image and colours.

I really enjoyed this assignment, as my topic choice was something I am very passionate about. If I was to do anything different or to try this all again I think I would look at doing it landscape, maybe it would make the text look like less. I guess what I learnt is that A4 is a lot smaller than you think!

Leave a Reply

